intothehills

By intothehills

Formative

So how do you celebrate a psychology Masters?
Go and see one of the sages of your youth, someone who helped form a foundational part of your autobiographical self, the Bard of Barking, Sir* Billy Bragg.
A fabulous celebration of 40 years of speaking truth, not just to power, but also about a lot of life. The encore was, fabulously, the entire Life's a Riot album including Kirsty McColl's added lyrics to New England.
But the highlights for me were Which Side Are You On? I was one of those teenage boys on buses turned around by the police on the M62 when we weren't allowed to stand in solidarity with the miners as Thatcher destroyed communities across the North, that's stayed with me forever. And, Levi Stubbs Tears, a song that for all the poignantly wrong reasons always makes me think of mum.
A wonderful night with my oldest (Steve is really old) friend.
Extra from a wander round the park

*I dont think Billy will be knighted any time soon, but I'd also like to think he'd say no. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.