The Daily Mynci

By Funkymynci

Last Splash

Me and Mrs Mynci went to see The Breeders in Glasgow tonight - it was their "Last Splash 20th Anniversary Tour". It was a great gig. We only seem to manage one gig every 5 years or so these days, so it was a rare treat.

We got there on time to catch most of the support band's set. Absolutely superb grungy Scottish 3-piece that took me back to 1992. Terrible name though.. they were called Paws. Reflecting, I don't think I've ever seen a bad 3-piece group - maybe it's down to the bass and drums not being overwhelmed by other instruments and the singer perfectly in tune with the rhytm because they're usually the lead guitarist too. Motorhead (mark 1), Budgie, Nirvana, Jimi Hendrix Experience (no, I never saw them) .. all titanic perfect 3-piece rock bands. Prove me wrong.

The Breeders were just sublime. They played the Last Splash album from start to finish as the first part of their set and then came back with a selection from "Pod". The original Breeders we saw reunited tonight only brought out these 2 albums due to the Deal sisters well documented drug addictions. Such a creative period in West coast american rock the early 90's, but what a lot of drug casualties there were.

Neither of us saw them back in the early 90's but if we had I doubt it would have cost £6 for a half of beer and a water or been a smoke free atmosphere. I was going to take a camera, but glad I decided not to because cameras were banned from the venue, another change from the old days. I wonder what they'd have said if I was carrying an old film camera.

So it was just a few grainy cameraphone shots. This was in the car park afterwards. We always take Marley when we have babysitters because he's a bit bonkers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.