IainatCreel

By IainatCreel

Breakfast Time

The Current Mrs Creel nearly ended herself laughing at the breakfast table.  I'd made sure my milk was oxter temperature before placing my Weetabix in the bowl.  I thought they looked darker than usual.  On close examination they were Weetabix with chocolate through them.  I bloody well ask you - who would give their bairns such rubbish?  (I had bought them in Dounby the day before).  The Current Mrs Creel had to consult her Synonymicon as she had never heard me use such epithets.   Calming down from apoplectic, l spread butter on my toast.  I knew l needed some marmalade to reassure me.  Spooning the marmalade onto the toast, before spreading it, l thought 'How did this piece of tattie get in the marmalade jar'?  I showed it to CMC.   I sniffed it and realised it was a large piece of ginger.  I thought it must be one of Kathleen's jar of ginger and rhubarb compote.  I spread it.  When l was seated, l bit into the toast.  In the name of the wee man.  What a horrible unexpected taste.  Examining the jar revealed l'd spread my toast with mango chutney.  Oh how CMC laughed.  And is still laughing.

We are now across in Hoy.

It never gets any easier. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.