RegardsFromEdin

By RegardsFromEdin

Letter from Freer Street, Fountainbridge

Dad and I met up today. We talked about this 1948 letter from his Granny McGuire, my Great Granny, to her grand-daughter in Canada. It mentions my Dad, wee Hughie, who was seven years old at the time!
 
For someone like me who does genealogy it was like finding gold - it was in a bag with old stuff to be shredded!  It's three page letter and mentions lots of family members. It ends with a recipe for jam!

Last week I posted a photo from Saxe Coburg Place where Annie married in 1910.  What I didn't say in that blip is that she was married and widowed three times in her life.  She married Hugh McGuire in 1934 but he died in 1942 after only eight years of marriage.  My Dad born the year before Hugh died was named after him. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.