Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

A bit 'Orrible?

Very few to go now; but I found a bit of "history" I didn't know "we" ever had.

OOOOPS!!! I'm pleased I checked - dates. It's Geo lV (1820 - 1830) I am NOT reshuffling and re-shooting them.
       From the left: A George ll (Vll 1828) Coin which was so mucked up I didn't even recognise what country, it was not even obviously a coin; until I accidentally left it in vinegar over-night instead of just a few hours, which brought GEORGIUS into view using Jewellers' Loupe (and not the usual GEORGIVS of the later lads).
       I fixed it as Geo ll (Geo lV) by hunting online and noticing he faced the opposite way to a known Geo lll, also ID-ed online.
       In true Brit fashion each succeeding monarch faces "away" from his/her predecessor; EXCEPT GeoV & Geo Vl who ought to not to have been there and Edward Vlll ("The unCrowned King") breaking the tradition I guess.
       What else I noticed (well various things in fact)  For a reason I've not, yet, searched Britannia changes direction on the Geo lll - Geo lV swap, then returns; never again to roam.
       I also saw a number of changes in both Britannia herself and her assorted accoutrements; Hat/Helmet, shield, ship, lighthouse, even her silhouette.
       I also recalled the rather puerile definition of the "Honolulu Penny".  On almost all coins post Victoria her Trident is resting on-her-knee, whereas on the Victorian Coin it's "not" - think about it.     ( ;¬o)  

A late AHA!!!!!  I had either forgotten OR didn't know - we had a King Wm. for five days short of seven years. Which accounts for why Geo lV & Vic are facing same way. (If you'll pardon the crudity I haven't got a Willy, to fill the gap)   When I was @ U. K. A. E. A. collecting coins there was nothing circulating pre-Victoria.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.