Life at 50mm

By Stevie378

Surveying The Damage . . . . . .

Terrible start to what should have been a fun day.
I ran across the road to the bus stop in town centre. As I reached the pavement I heard a sickening crunch beside me. Looking down I could see my 5D, lying on the pavement. Somehow it had fallen from my backpack, which was still on my back, but now unzipped. I picked up the 5D - it was still in one piece.
Then I noticed a man close by, gesturing into the road - I followed his gaze, and spotted my G12, still in its padded pouch, just disappearing under the wheels of a bus. After the bus had passed I retrieved the pouch - it seemed intact, but the same couldn't be said of the G12 - it looked like the bus had just caught the edge of the camera with a tyre, which was more than enough to wreck it beyond help or repair.
I was still in shock half an hour later, as I sat on the bus and surveyed the damage - The Canon G12 was totally destroyed. The 5D appeared to have escaped with nothing more than a few scratches to the body and a missing case screw. The 50mm f1.4 lens that was fitted to the 5D at the time of impact was refusing to focus any closer than 4ft, and had something rattling loose inside.
Thing is - it could have been a lot worse. Losing the G12 is like losing a limb, and I'm unlikely to be able to replace it in the foreseeable future, but had the 5D suffered the same fate I'd have been totally screwed - both my precious cameras wiped out in one awful moment . . . .

So - todays shot features my view from the bus, as I fired test shots and surveyed the damage to my precious 5D and 50mm lens . . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.