Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

The New Landed Gentry

I needed to visit the Welsh shop in Abergavenny (South Wales UK) to get a card and some gifts to post to our friends in Germany that seems to have become a custom to exchange over the past fifteen years.  I took the slow route home via Kilpeck (Herefordshire, England) and saw Coles Tump which reminded me of a walk Mrs BB and I did about three years ago.

We were following a route in a walking book, on a sunny day, and arrived on Coles Tump to find some people picnicing. A well spoken man, aged about 30 yrs from the party approached us and told us we shouldn't be there. I showed him the walking book and explained.

A woman approached us from behind and said "What are you doing here?
                            Man "Mummy, they're doing a walk from a book!"
The well spoken woman "I'll have that off them now!"
                            Man "No, mummy, you can't do that!"
She explained she meant she'd have details of the book to write to the publishers. It appears it was a permissive right of way, and being new landowners, they'd revoked it!

* original blip here

We've only ever had problems with land owners (normally from the Home Counties) who've bought land in the area rather than those born and bred. I think being new land owners must go to their head!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.