Pensioner's eye.

By Popsie64

Double Vision

Have been watching the slowly increasing number of pond skaters in my pond. Get a life I hear you say! Anyway not deterred I took some photos this morning and couldn't believe that I had two pond skaters mating. These Gerrridae to give them their proper name are more interesting than at first appears. The male, predominantly, produces ripples and the 3 main frequencies are one that signals repel, one signals a threat and the third is a courtship signal. If the female is receptive she lowers her abdomen and allows the male to mount her - if she's not receptive she raises her abdomen and emits a ripple signal to say 'clear off!'
The male stays attached to the same female for the whole productive season.
I must work harder at getting a life!!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.