Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Suspended

I'm being arty-farty today with my photo, despite my having a whole clutch of lovely wintry landscapes, frozen ponds and a bold robin from a midday walk in Benmore Gardens. But this little autumn leaf was suspended by a single delicate filament of spider's web from the outside of the kitchen window frame, rotating gently in the slight wind, and I thought it was unusual enough for a portrait all of its own.

Apart from the walk, I washed sheets, hung them out, brought them in hours later as damp as they'd gone out, and dried them in the tumble drier. They smelled nice from their airing ... I made bread, and am even now looking forward to having a slice with marmalade (because it's Tuesday). We had a slight drama when I was just about to serve dinner: Himself caught his thumb in the ratchet of the bottle-opener and howked a lump of skin off it. There was much blood, but we'd dealt with that (clean kitchen towel wrapped firmly around it) and I'd put the pasta out when he announced that he was feeling like passing out ...

He didn't. But he was a very odd colour for a bit. I've only fainted once, when I was about 15, after climbing the Leaning Tower of Pisa in July heat, but ...

And then there was choir. We sang some carols absolutely beautifully, which cheered everyone up. There's one more rehearsal before the Carol service; this was our last in the (warm) hall, as we'll have next week's in the church. I believe the weather should be slightly milder. 

And wetter. Of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.