tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Free nibbles

I set out on a long walk but my intended route proved too waterlogged  so I turned in the opposite direction via an abandoned churchyard where I lingered awhile. The place is such a wilderness that winter is the best time to explore it, the undergrowth having wilted somewhat. Among the mossy gravestones (extra)  I spotted this collection of hawthorn seeds  like tiny hazel nuts, their kernels nibbled out. It's most likely to be the work of wood mice, known to cache their winter provisions. As I peered down I noticed (on the right) the tiny green shoots of snowdrops already poking through the soil. In a few weeks time the ground will be speckled with white pearls. Last year's fruit and next year's flowers.

There was also some naughtiness afoot from our fungal friends. I don't think the long-gone vicars would have been very pleased.

PS  Found this Tik Tok snatch of mice eating berries. Not sure if they're wood mice but it's irresistible anyway, as much for the delighted wonderment in the human's voice as anything else.

https://www.tiktok.com/@mousefamilybythebrambles/video/7269831002447416609

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.