Blippish Columbia

By OllieG90

Teaching Traditions

Every year for Fathers Day my family make the journey to my Aunty's for a big family gathering. Every year is the same and every year is wonderful. We start with a BBQ followed by Croquet before dessert and the usual family banter.

The annual croquet match has changed from something that was a bit of fun, to all out war! The draw garners the same scrutiny as the UEFA champions league semi-final draw and each game is closely fought and argued over. My Aunty and I managed to fight off competition and make it into the final, only to be beaten by the father/son tag team of my Uncle and Cousin. Watching my uncle have to cut his celebrations short after pulling a muscle in his calf was possibly the funniest moment of the day. Croquet is a daft game but for a once a year tradition its lots of fun!

Of course, Fathers Day wouldn't be a Father's Day without a mention for my dad, the star of the day. My Dad is equal parts role model, best friend and confidante and I wouldn't be the person I am today without him. Love you Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.