JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Forgotten flowers

M was back today, and brought a tub of delicious and very pretty little home baked German biscuits - lebkuchen, cinnamon stars, lemony shortbread hearts and some spiral swirls which are probably chocolate and perhaps vanilla - I must photograph them before we eat them all! 

Having her helping J with meals, cycling and art activities meant I had the satisfaction of some more cleaning and tidying completed, a number of small admin tasks out of the way, and a walk which began in drizzle which soon turned to steady and increasingly heavy rain. Eventually, I cut the route short and made dash for home. 

Part of my route took me past the top fences of several sloping hillside back gardens, which I always enjoy seeing - there are vegetable beds, greenhouses, summer houses, lawns and shrubs. Today it was all looking soggy and muddy, but I was surprised to see a huge burst of pinky mauve flowers, perhaps chrysanthemums, on brown/grey stems and pressing up the windows of a clearly neglected greenhouse with very dirty glass. They looked rather poignant - forgotten, perhaps by someone who can no longer tend them, probably unwatered, but still flowering exuberantly. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.