Hev’s Journal

By Hevkk

A Little Art

A change from my normal subjects, which lately seems to be only squirrels, is my other love - painting. Well, to be more accurate, drawing as I use colour pencils. I did use watercolours but I discovered that this was a recognised art form after reading an article in an art magazine. I gave it a try and was hooked. It takes many hours to do one picture as colour pencils require many layers and blending. But it is very rewarding. 

This is a portrait done for my friend at work. She asked me if I would do one as she wanted it for a Christmas present. I was delighted to do it but quite terrified at the same time.

There were many challenges along the way. The photograph I was working from was not highly detailed so I needed to use my imagination a little. I also had to add the toy in from another photo, not something I'd tried before. Just for clarity, she did give me permission.to show it.

I think I learnt a lot from doing this but I'm quite glad it's done. I've started my next picture today, just for me, a little robin (from one of my own photos). Nice and simple plus a little seasonal too. Maybe I'll show it here when it's done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.