One way traffic

By Mobius

Lankum

Went with 2 local mates to see mercury prize "dark folk" nominees Lankum.

Gig review
Clearly very talented Irish musicians and very good live, but quite a few technical hitches and played more of their older more traditional style folk, and just a few "darker" latest album tracks which are more to my taste.

Lankum - Dig My Grave

Support act Jack Dempsey ( aka Djaculate) was excellent - variously blending a middle eastern tunes with celtic, oohmpa band, and 90s dance (Underworld, Leftfield). Bumped into local folk artist Burd Ellen a couple of times which was nice and got chatting to another local band member from Seas of Mirth, who I'll now look out for.

The King & Wellbeing
was on excellent form visiting him at hospital today. On his final short and far less intensive chemo; he'll be back home on Monday probably.

I also saw my consultant for my quarterly botox injections. Been in quite a lot of pain recently, so relieved; they start working in less than a week, with maximum benefit after around 2 weeks.

Had to use a stool part way through the gig, as my hip was playing up. Booked a GP ( doctor's) appointment today re this ailment - but will go private planning to use my excellent surgeon from a few years back. Hopefully will be able to have a re-surfacing done again but on this other hip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.