Appreciation

By Appreciation

Broadway!!!!

Lights, Camera, Action! I was doing the weekly return of unsuitable parcels at the quieter Oxgangs Broadway today. There was a little crowd assembled, and then the class of carol singers came in.

I can't watch a school choir without so many emotions. I cry every time. I remember watching my kids doing the same. I remember how my mum would seek out these choirs and stand in tears. The innocence and anticipation from the kids, the high-pitched voices, the antics. It's a moment of pure joy.

I don't remember doing this as a child, but I'm sure I did. I do remember playing in the school brass band at every light turning on ceremony in the area. We visited day centres, we visited factories, and we played in churches. Decked in tinsel and bobble hats - way too early for Santa hats - with freezing cold hands. It's hard to play a French horn with gloves on.

My children are heading to a karaoke room soon. I've told them to Deck the Halls and Jingle Bells for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.