The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Passenger

A female Common Blue butterfly resting on an ox-eye daisy, Heathwaite, Arnside Knott. If you look carefully, there is a tiny passenger on the wing of the Blue. Oddly, there was one on the underside of each of the wings, they could be aphids or very tiny beetles.

It was a beautiful morning, somehow I managed to get up an hour earlier than I had planned. Gus and I walked over the Knott, and down to Heathwaite. This time I had my binoculars to try and spot an enigmatic bird that has been singing the last two days that I have been there, but today he was silent. Tomorrow perhaps.

We descended to the coast path and rounded Park Point. I took this shot of light penetrating the canopy in the tall oak coppice. Then it was back along the shore, through Gus's favourite rabbit field and eventually past the allotment and up the hill to home. Not a bad walk before breakfast.

ps I forgot to mention that Wifie was doing Tai Chi in the garden accompanied by Gus, Bob and Reg. Later Bob was curled up on Reggie, who wasn't too happy about it. Bob does like to be close to him.

VIEW LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.