misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Vote Here Today~

At the Oxford Firehouse today the election for mayor, one judge for a year in filling out a term, and three trustees.
It seems that the trustees have to do with caring for the finances. In the five years that I have lived here in this charming, non-growing village, the At the Oxford Firehouse today the election for mayor, one judge for a year filling out a term, and three trustees.
It seems that the trustees have to do with caring for the finances. In the five years that I have lived here in this charming, non-growing village, the mayor has been the same and seems to have been for a long time. No one challenged him, period. Several people I asked had never heard when the election was being held. By law it must be advertised, but cleverly enough, it was advertised in the newspaper from the next town. A kind of 'good loe boys club' running things. Almost no challengers were on the ballot this time because they did not get their names submitted in time. So, we had to print the names of those we voted for. Only the same old guys were on the ballot with one ernest, very young newcomer for a trustee position. I voted for him because he's got to start somewhere. I sure hope he is not a Tea Party fanatic.
When I voted this afternoon and I was the only one in the firehouse doing so. I asked the ladies running the different stations if the voting had been slow. "Oh, no," they declared. In the past there have been only 100 people during the 9 hours the polls were open. That makes for a very long day, I guess.
Right after I put my ballot (of change) in the box a cluster of 6 or 7 more folks turned up. So, good luck to us and happy democracy to all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.