AnnieBelle

By AnnieBelle

Derelict fence

I've walked past this house on occasions for years and wondered about its story. I've even blipped parts of the yard which had been very overgrown, and the house also was in major need of maintenance and repair. Previously I had seen two cats in the yard that were always lying down together with their arms around each other but they weren't there the last couple of times I was there. 

Today I struck up a conversation with a neighbour who was tending the community garden across from the side walk. I commented that the house and garden were looking a lot better in recent times. She said that the occupants were a brother and sister who had lived in the house since childhood. Three months ago the brother died and it was only then that his sister felt free to clean it all up. It even has Christmas decorations. The fence hasn't changed yet - wooden bits, if not entirely missing, are rotting and the gate is rusting. 

In a corner of the front yard there is what appears to be a shrine (extra). I wondered if it was a pet's grave. Whatever its meaning, it's another expression of the love finally allowed to come out from the gloom. 

Thanks for hosting Marlieske. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.