Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Oh yes I did

Up at ridiculous o'clock this morning to head to London.

After the train strikes this week, I was a bit worried that the disruption would continue today and I was right.  When I got to the train station the 6:05 that should have got to London was delayed and then got cancelled.  The 6:35 which I'd booked on was running 5-10 minutes late.  I eventually go on and we weren't too late getting into Paddington.

The weather wasn't great, it was quite a damp day.

I was meeting up with my friend Jules today, to rekindle our pre-Christmas tradition of going to see the panto at the London Palladium.  First up we had a wander around Hatchards bookshop and then a very cramped wander around Fortnum and Masons.  The crowds in Fortnums were utterly bonkers, they must have made a killing with everything bought today.

Next we headed to Waterstones Piccadilly, had a good browse of books.  Jules joked that I should have scattered a few copies of my book around the store.  Lol!  We had a cuppa and some food.

And then it was off to the London Palladium to see Peter Pan.  As usual it was a star studded panto with Julian Clary, Nigel Havers, Gary Wilmott and Paul Zerdin, the special guest this year was Jennifer Saunders who was playing Captain Hook.  It was an excellent panto and very funny, although how they get away with some of the jokes I never know.  There was also a moving tribute to Paul O'Grady from Julian Clary.

After the panto was finished we had to negotiate the crowds of Regent Street and it was very stressful.  There were far too many people to feel comfortable, and people were pushing and shoving.  You might just be able to make it out in the extra.

I said goodbye to Jules, and also my first copy of Cwtch.  Jules' daughter was the inspiration for him, so she deserves one of the first copies.  I hope she loves it.

No dramas on the train home, other than I had to share my carriage with a load of masons.  Lol!

Today I am thankful for:

1.  Rekindling a Christmas tradition of the Palladium panto
2.  A good day with my friend Jules

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.