Tryfan46

By Tryfan46

Tryfan’s steamiest blip ever

When I eventually arrived at Wittersham Road signalbox we had a very good day indeed. I had a trainee for the day again who did all the work, including going out in the torrential rain to work the gates! He did very well indeed.

I said “eventually” as on the way I had an argument with a pothole which led to my near side front tyre being gashed by the sharp edge.

I was fortunate that the AA was on site in 20 minutes, fitted a temporary tyre, followed me to the nearest auto centre 15 miles away and waited while a new tyre was fitted. Excellent service and it meant I was at Wittersham only 2 hours late. The controller was able to find a temporary replacement until I turned up.

The only real damage, apart from the tyre was to my bank balance which was well over £100 lighter. I know exactly where the pothole is and have the jolt recorded on the dashcam. I’ll report it and see if there is any possibility of a refund…

It’s so difficult to spot potholes when you’re also watching the road and it’s worse at night when they are even more difficult to spot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.