twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

A slow start. I knew the rain was due around lunchtime, but could I shift myself to get up and out to Her's? No.

So. Having dallied (no dillying today) long enough to make it worth my while getting Granton Garden Bakery bread, I did so before meandering up to Crewe Toll in search of trolleys and a bus to Her's.

Arriving shortly after 11, downed tea and took the pup out for a squelch about the Meadows; before the rain duly arrived and the lure of some bread with eggs enticed me back to Her's. 

Having arranged to meet the boys at Meadowbank,  I filled the in-between time with a visit to Hewat's and came away with a bright yellow heavy duty jacket, perfect for cycling on these wet winter nights. Oh, and gloves too. 

Before heading off to watch the Binos take on the financially fooked Edinburgh City. Om Thursday they announced that the books weren't balancing and come January they'd let anyone go on a free if they wanted out.

After showing some Christmas spirit, they took the lead when Blair Currie threw the ball out and it landed at the feet of their striker. He took one touch before calmly lobbing it back over Blair's head and into the goal. 

Never mind, though. Recalled Robert Thomson equalised and seconds before half time, Embra repaid the gift by passing to Jack Leitch who was standing all alone and he dutifully smacked in a belter to go in ahead at the break.

Josh Cooper came on around the hour Mark and his second touch was to fire in a free kick from the left edge of the penalty area. 

We still had time to make all our substitutions before Dunsmore crocked Geachs and after trying to struggle on, he exited, leaving us with 10 for the last 10 minutes. Dale Carrick then managed to miss a penalty before we were all ushered out into the rain. I chummed the boys part of the way home on a 19 before baling out and walking from the east end up to Hers. 

More spicy pork stew (this time with mash) and a glass of wine before I put the bright yellow jacket to the test. I kept dry; and noone ran me over. I guess it'll do fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.