The night garden...

Another long day spent surveying a hay-meadow on the western side of Milton Keynes. We met our co-worker, Ellie, at the Open University and then headed off to the site to set out the canes. It was only when we arrived that we discovered none of us had ever done it before. After some initial hiccups, Ellie and Chris got ino the swing of it, and I started recording the quadrats in their wake. It was a warm and muggy day, with a constant threat of rain, which fortunately never materialised.

Chris and I arrived home at about 6.45, and then I proof-read Alex's last piece of work. I shall be so glad when everything's handed in and he finds out his final result - it does seem to have been quite a slog. However, I think he'll really miss the companionship - he's made some very good friends during his two years at Shuttleworth.

I nearly decided to miss a day of blipping, not having taken any photographs. But Pete had put the moth trap on, and the mercury vapour lamp was producing an interesting effect. I'm afraid I was very lazy and didn't get the tripod out, but used the night scene mode on my camera. It may not be perfectly sharp, but it gives a good impression of the abundance of growth in the June garden. And the patio is so sweetly scented, thanks to the honeysuckle which has grown huge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.