West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Cool Cat George

I was struggling for a Blip today, I was not too motivated this morning to walk so I am afraid I just sat and read, drank my tea and reflected on the past few days, I was quietly satisfied with the events.

I went out wandering tonight, ever hopeful for something I could be happy to use for today's journal, like a Beatnik from yesteryear I caught sight of this gentleman and heard him called George I have read Kerouac, I dont know why I read it, it seemed like a right of passage, something I should do and On the Road is one of the few books I return to again and again. The Beatniks were the radical, the outsiders, they frequented the coffee houses, enjoyed poetry, music and were often politically active, living a non conformist style of life that set a trend for the hippies later in the 1960's.

George had that style, the goatee, the hat, the shades, the linen jacket, he personified the image of those early pioneers of an alternative lifestyle. He sat quietly reflective, hands clasped in quiet contemplation the enigma of his thoughts hidden as if by the shades that covered his eyes in the fading light. I shot a few frames and quietly slipped away leaving George to his contemplations in the coming dusk.

I hope you enjoy the shot and if you have not read the book, give it a whirl

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.