a piece of heritage

Peebles was invaded today by the crackle and thunder of vintage car exhausts, as the Bugatti Owners Club UK International Rally came to town. We had seen odd single cars around over the weekend, and Madame suggested we go up to the Peebles Hydro this evening, where they were based. Nothing had prepared us for the no less than one hundred and two vintage Bugattis, from around the world. I was not a vintage car enthusiast, but now I definitely get it. Such beautiful lines. Such simple exposed mechanicals. Such incredible exhaust roars and rasps.

Inevitably the owners were all to keen to get engaged in conversation as I wondered about with my camera. I will only bore you with two facts. 1. One of the light racing models (and racing pedigree is all in this world) had exposed wheels with no mudguards and a gear lever mounted outside the cockpit. The owner told me that sometimes, when changing gear, his elbow struck the spinning rear tyre. That must be fun. 2. One of the cars here tonight had recently changed hands for a cool £7m.

They were in every colour; many with stunning two-tone coachwork. But it was this polished aluminium one that I drooled over.

It was a very international gathering, and as bonnets were lifted and rocker covers removed, there was cursing in many languages. "Sacre Bleu. Now I have to remove ze gear box."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.