curns' corner

By curns

Christmas, not Christmas

Our house can take a long time to warm up. The previous owner knocked through the downstairs rooms to create a single kitchen-dining-living room. It’s lovely but it is not easy to heat. As I know people were coming today I kept  the overnight temperature set higher than normal and so we awoke to a warmer house than usual. The thermometer outside, at the back of the house, recorded -4°c overnight so I was glad I did it.  Later in the day it rained quite heavily which melted the remains of the snow and meant that the temperature rose. I think the very cold temperatures may be gone for a few weeks. 

PY’s side of the family came for an early Christmas dinner. We did a different take on the main dinner: with a turkey wellington as the main course. It all worked really well and we should remember it. The table was set early. The gold wine glasses were a gift and at some times of the year can look a bit out of place. But, at Christmas, I think they add to the festive table.  Much fun was had by all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.