Technophobe

By Technophobe

Chinese shadow show

Mono Monday theme shadows.
Our son and then fiancée , now wife lived and worked in Beijing for two years. When we went to see them, we stayed in a hotel which held Shadow Puppet shows in the evening. We were given or bought, I can’t remember, a little shadow stencil. (extra)
The shows are very elaborate with stories of heroes and villains and chases, dragons and magic. All accompanied by Chinese music. Very enjoyable.
It was trickier than I thought to set this photo up because I couldn’t  just take a photo of it from in front, it needed to be projected onto paper. I used a torch to project the shadow . I attached the stencil to a matchstick but it kept flopping over so I held it upside down then rotated the photo. Bit of a palaver but you can get the idea.
The stencils are traditionally made of thin leather and brightly coloured so the shadows are colourful in real life.
Our Beijing adventures started here if you’re interested. After Beijing we went to Vietnam and Cambodia .
The following year we went when it was slightly warmer and saw a bit more of China.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.