ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Not So Eternal External

Don't know if it's out of order, but the cable connecting it to the laptop works just fine.  I know this because I tried it with the other external drive and everything was okay.  Then I tried the other external with its own cable and it worked fine as well, but when I tried its cable with this drive, nothing.  So the next step is... not to junk this but go to that large red wholesaling store and see if they can give it an MRI and find out if it has emphysema.  Very, very thankful I have the other external drive because I would have lost all my other back-ups otherwise.  The 'Cloud' is totally out of the question.  I am already missing the folder with all of this year's BLIP shots.  Indeed, BLIP has a separate file.  No problem because I can always download my own shots... but what a time-consuming project.

To make things a little more interesting, AW said he could try to check if my external drive would work with his laptop, only to discover that his keyboard does not work and he'll need to use his viral keyboard if he wants to type anything.  The mouse works, the mousepad, too, but typing passwords and such is awkward.  Looks like there'll be two of us needing to visit the big red store.

In fact, I did want to go to that red store today, but the weather was quite discouraging.  As this is not life or death, it can wait.

Thankful again that there was no urgent reason to leave the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.