Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Almost there

This morning I decided to make a start on decorating the tree, thought it might hide the remnants of the mud. I'd taken Christmas out of the cupboard under the stairs yesterday and only banged my head twice in the process - which may be a record.
Our tree is full of history. There are decs from my parents first tree in the 50s; from my childhood in the 50s and 60s; from our first trees after we got married in the 70s; from when the children were young including the obligatory feather shuttle cock angel!; from my sister's tree after she died in 2009 and so̶m̶e̶ lots which I have just acquired over the years!
Looking at the tree, I see that as I feared it seems to have rather a large belly, never mind, by the time I get the tinsel and lametta on, nobody will be able to tell. And, as Isobel said to me, "Don't forget the chocolates Grandma, your tree always needs lots of chocolate and you give it to everyone who comes". (She then proceeded to imitate me offering chocolate Santas to everyone) little madam, she's only 7 what is she going to be like when she's 17! I do hope I'm around to find out .
Talking of chocolates I took all those out of date Lindor chocs to bridge tonight and people seem to have been willing to risk eating them, lol . There were several retired medics around but their services were not required.
Don't tell blipper Blethers but I put lights onto the trees in the garden too, they don't flash or change colour, I have them set to static. They are so clever, they're battery operated and I just turn them on and then they come on for six hours every night then switch off again without any intervention from me. A set of batteries lasts right through until 12th night. Our neighbour across the road says she loves them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.