michigan man

By outdoorguy

The Nativity

When we had a church rummage sale in the parking lot this Fall, someone donated a pretty nice nativity set. When it didn't sell, our pastor's wife took it in, then displayed it at the first of December. The problem? The set has a couple of issues. Most of Mary's right hand was gone, and the wise man carrying the gift of gold was missing the fingers of his left hand.

When I was looking at it with her last week, I said..."I know a fairly crafty old guy that might try to fix that." "Is that old guy you?" "How did you guess?"

Afte a couple of hours with clay, glue, and paint...I was thinking that maybe I should have kept my mouth shut, finding out that I am not a sculptor. I found it very hard to get Mary's thumb right, and my Skin Tone acrylic paint didn't match Mary's face very well.

But I did the best I could. Please don't put it into LARGE. When I was looking at my repairs with the pastor's wife, I told her..."Now it looks like both Joseph AND Mary are carpenters."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.