Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

Update?

       I found a couple more Irish animals I didn't know I had.  One from the days of whatever they called their £-s-d and one from recent Decimal coins.  
       I didn't, for one moment, expect "Reul" to translate as "a Tanner"   ;¬)
However I had to find out, "diddle eye":-
"The sixpence (6d; Irish: réal or reul ) coin was a subdivision of the pre-decimal Irish Pound (Punt), worth 1⁄40 of a pound or 1⁄2 of a shilling.  The Irish name réal is derived from the Spanish real; for most of the 19th century, a pound sterling was equal to fiveU.S. dollars, and a dollar was equal to eight reales, so that a real was equal to 1⁄40 of a pound. The variant  reul was used in the Coinage Act 1926, and appeared on the coins themselves even after a 1947 spelling reform established réal as the standard."   SO - now we know.       ;¬ ) 
       I also discovered that it isn't either a Whippet or a Greyhound; I should have guessed it was a Wolfhound maybe?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.