Bits of Life Thru A Lens

By KimD

Storage Wars!

I don't know if you UK-ers have a version of the show Storage Wars, but it's crazy popular here in the states and since I've started this job the number one most popular question has been "Do you guys do those storage wars here?!!"

The concept is that abandoned storage units are auctioned off to the highest bidder. On the show there are often really awesome treasures in the won units.

The answer is, yes, we have auctions where I work and this Thursday will be the first one since I've started. Today we had to cut locks, photograph the units, inventory them (from the door - we are not allowed to enter the units at all) and seal them with a tag that will be cut on the day of the auction. The unit shown on the bottom right of the collage makes me sad ... there is china, obviously passed down from someone who meant something to the unit owner, and TONS of 12 inch records. The Christmas tree all set up in the middle of it just makes it even sadder.

I'm a bit excited to see my first auction though. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.