Burradoo Journal

By Burradoo

Whose shopping?

Our groceries were delivered by Woolworths this afternoon. (Woolworths is one of the two supermarket giants in Australia.) We realized, too late, that the delivery included three bags of shopping which were not ours.
 
So I had a ‘chat’ with Olive,  Woollies’ ‘virtual assistant’. Olive, who is definitely not human, had several stock answers: I could keep the contents of the bags, I could give them away to family or friends, or I could throw them away. None of these seemed satisfactory, so Olive passed me on to Jonathan. I’m not sure whether Jonathan was virtual or human, but he did have one new suggestion. I could donate the contents of the bags to a local RSL (Returned Services League) club.
 
This is the good part of the story. I spoke to Tracy at the local club. She had never heard of such an arrangement with Woollies, but that didn’t faze her. If we could drop the bags at the club, she would go past a local charity on her way home and drop them off there. So that’s what we did.
 
The bad part of the story, of course, is that someone didn’t get their shopping, and no-one had a solution for that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.