Edisteve

By edisteve

Memories

Today was full of memories.

I was over in the west for the cremation of my old babysitter and family friend, Lesley, who had baby sat for me and my brother in the early 1970s. Lesley  was probably in her late teens when she babysat for us and I remember her drawing for us. She would later graduate from Glasgow School of Art and became accomplished as an artist, having many of her paintings in a number of private and public collections inc. the late Princess Diana’s collection. 

Lesley was a real character (as was her mother, Hope) and I’m glad I knew her, even though it was early on. That said, I did visit her in her art gallery in Glasgow when I was older. 

I also visited Mearns Cemetery to lay a wreath on our family plot, which my mum had always done since her mum died in 1959. I had latterly done it with my mum when she became frail.

Last stop was the old house, to see what changes that new owners had made since they moved in July 2022.

Yes, full of memories, many good ones, but some sad ones too. 

It’s good to remember, particularly, at this time of year.

I hope you have had a good day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.