Big Pansy

Yesterday it was stupidly hot and sultry.
This morning before 5(the first number was 4, I wasn't awake enough to read the others) I was woken by a loud noise (which I thought, in my sleeping state, was a door being slammed - unlikely at such an hour, but I am rarely logical mid sleep) which was followed by the sound of torrential rain, or it could have been hail - there was no way I was going to open the shutters to find it. This was very quickly followed by little miss bossy clutching the requisite cuddly toys for sleep, asking if she could bunk in with me. Her entrance was succeeded by a flash of lightning so bright I thought the lights had turned on, which was in turn succeeded by a boom of thunder that seemed to shake the house* - the storm was clearly overhead.
Jas held my hand and asked, "what about Logan?"
I said he'd be fine, thinking he was asleep in the cellar, furthest away from the noise and the storm...but we could both hear him whimpering**
I got up to go and check on him and met him outside my bedroom door, in full panic mode.
I spent the next 20 minutes or so, as the storm moved past, sat on the stairs, Jas on one side and dog on the other. Even when the storm was gone and I'd persuaded Jas back to (my) bed, Logan wouldn't settle, not until I gave up and curled up in a chair stroking him whilst trying to get a bit more sleep myself, if he'd been able (and I'd let him) he'd have climbed onto my lap, the great angsthase.



* a friend down the hill commented this morning that her little house shook so hard a mask fell off the wall - shall be asking her later exactly what kind of mask she has on her wall!
** clearly very loudly as we heard him over the noise of the storm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.