SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Danger

I missed out on the morning dog walk, since daughter L did it for once. So I worked until 13:00, and then had lunch before briefing myself about the person I'd be talking to at 14:00. I'd expected him to be a young researcher, but he was a very eminent engineering professor who has been at MIT for 27 years! Fortunately he knew little about what we were discussing, and he was put on the back foot by his Wi-Fi failing repeatedly in the first ten minutes! Hopefully I've said the right thing, because he's (partly) holding the purse strings to a very large amount of money! Daughter L has secured a place on a one-year creative arts programme that will yield a BA, and then left for London, just after daughter K arrived from Edinburgh. After regaling us over dinner with the latest disasters in her student flat, I took Django out for a walk. For once the gate of St Mungo's Churchyard was open, so walked through to take its Turf zone. Normally it's locked because the tower is dangerous. That's obvious to anyone sensible, and even the barrier around it should be unnecessary.

Back home, I watched the closing stages of the exciting Newcastle vs AC Milan match. I was sorry to see Newcastle go out, as they have such wonderful fans, and the margins were so tight in their group.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.