My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Sempervivum..........

..............in the pot daughter Anni bought for me - I blipped it last year when the Thyme in the pot was in full flower - just an odd bit flowering at the moment - it's late this year - but the Sempervivum is coming on very well and spreading. I love the contrast between the fresh green of the Thyme and the dark red/browny colour of this.
The name means "Always Living" and I can see why - it stays much like it is all the year round although a stem - with flowers - will come from the centre later on. There are about 40 different varieties - ranging in colour from the palest green right through to this lovely red.

p.s. Looking back, the thyme isn't as late as I thought - last years pic. wasn't taken until July.

I had intended to do another stint in the garden after visiting the Garden Centre yet again - but have been rather delayed by Beryl (my Orchid lady) calling round unexpectedly for coffee - and lovely as she is - can she talk, bless her!!! So I am now all behind and rushing to make up for lost time.

Another lovely day - sunny but slightly hazy - temperature around the 69 deg. F - so perhaps we are in for the forecasted heatwave.

Hope you have had a nice weekend and are having a good day today.

Lower case "L" to enlarge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.