While on my runs

By waipushrink

Cast aside

I ran at times during this evening walk, partly for the purpose of getting a bottle of fresh milk. I haven't run up significant hills for some years now. Once that was one of my strengths in road races. How time affects us.

The bird from which this feather was forcibly removed when it and at least four others were smashed by a car may well have been one of those ducks which act as if all drivers will stop to let them cross the road. That expectation is met with most drivers, but some deliberately drive into birds, especially mallard ducks. I saw the crushed bodies strewn across a small section of the road. 

The feather is white. The shaft has blood stains on it. The guilty human continued without any pause. I wonder if he felt any guilt. Perhaps he did, but I doubt it. A white feather signified cowardice. Would he be brave enough to admit to ending lives for no good reason

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.