CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Male blackcap prepares to fly to a feeder

Since I took this picture I've now seen another male blackcap and three female blackcaps all within a few feet of this branch. The blackcaps have been absent for much of the summer and for some weeks there was only one pair. Last year a pair were breeding in the garden and possibly it is their offspring that have returned as well.

I love their shy retiring ways and find it a challenge to get good pictures of them. They are quite happy to share space with other birds ion the feeder but like to retire into the shadows of the leaves, which is why they seem to like this evergreen in our neighbours garden. However I don't think they get any food from our neighbours, so they are always popping up at the top end of our garden. I think they are rather like dunnocks but prefer to stay well above ground level.

A series of Back Blips – 6

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.