Hollieberry

By Alichap21

Three of the Seven

After my pain free visit to the dentist I headed up to the Heritage Park for a mini walk and search for a waterfowl blip.

The first moment of excitement was spotting 3 Lapwings, socially distanced, on the board walk. In 2014 there were at least a dozen but the numbers decreased over the years until there were only 2 visiting ……. until today :-)) Poor light and distance so no photo.

The swan family were more obliging as they came ashore for a spot of preening. The seven juveniles are still there and their flying lessons have begun. As usual I was in the wrong place with my camera at the wrong setting when the nine swans flew from the car park end up to the wee nature reserve. By early 2024 I expect that the male swan will have chased his youngsters away to find their new forever home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.