David J. Rose

By djrose007

Baking and Giant Socks

Decided to make some Christmassy biscuits with Eric who was with us for the day.
I used a 'plain biscuits recipe but, on the recommendation of Marlane, used dark, soft brown, sugar instead of caster sugar. Also added a teaspoon of ground ginger and another of mixed spice.
Worked out very well except I ended up with twice the amount of mixture. Easily explained.
I was 'crumbing' the flour and butter and had weighed out the 4oz of caster sugar. When the recipe was changed to brown sugar I had the weight of 8oz (the flour measurement) in my head and so added twice the amount required. This made the mixture wet and stodgy so had to add another 8oz of flour and extra butter. It worked out fine, the biscuits taste really nice and I only used half of the mixture. The other half is cling-filmed and in the fridge to be used when the twins come to stay at the weekend.
The 'giant socks' were hanging from the drawer knobs of the dining room cabinet. They have the names 'Isabella' and 'Harriet' on them. Eric decided they would make great boots for wandering around! HAHAHAHAHAHA He only went around the table but it was worth capturing it on my phone camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.