CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

SUNDOWNING

Taken from the dunes at the end of Smelly Factory road. The big blocky building is the nuclear power station, behind the smelly factory ("natural" food colourings and flavours). The foreground is all part of the Teesmouth Nature Reserve. The flooded area isn't usually that wet and, although I don't think you can see it in this, there was a heron hiding in the two stunted little trees in the middle of the water; see if you can spot it in the extra. If I'd turned round and snapped in the opposite direction it would be of the Tees estuary with ships going in and out of Teesport.
When I parked there were quite a few birdwatchers along the road and I assumed they were looking out for the short-eared owls that hunt along there sometimes. The cars had all gone when I left and the short-eared owl flew right across my bonnet and over the field beside me. I couldn't get a photo, but allowed myself to feel quietly smug.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.