Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Dramatic imagery?

I'd better start with that terrible photo, hadn't I? It's a real photo right enough, in the sense that I took it, with my phone, and have only lessened some lens flare because it looked as if a flying saucer was joining the scene ... I took it as a friend and I had set off to walk home from church after Advent Study Group and the Communion service in church afterwards, and just as I was taking it a car outside the church started turning with its headlights on and ...and ... But I though it looked suitably apocalyptic, suitable perhaps for the image conjured up by lines like "Lo, He comes with clouds descending ..." I found our discussion before the service really interesting this week, tending towards the continuing necessity for prophetic speech, and the service itself both necessary and settling. The walk home in the dark, with friend and mad collie, was also good.

By then I'd already had a long and only intermittently useful day: shopping at 8.30am, doing Italian, seeing Himself off to an appointment at IRH for another cortisone injection, phoning my  #1 son, texting a friend who's life has suddenly taken a turn for the better, and phoning two dear friends on the Welsh Border whom we've not seen for several years. This is a couple who used to live on Mull, where we once went to stay with them, then moved south on retirement. Because we'd not retired, we could only visit in holidays, but I've spent lovely times there, writing poetry in their idyllic garden and walking in the Brecon Beacons. Now we're all getting too old to find driving the distance easy to contemplate, and I do miss them. It was lovely to talk.

I've just been out in the back garden, where it's dark, looking for meteorites. Despite there being a sizeable clear patch around Jupiter, I saw nothing, and although at 7ºC it's a mild night it was too chilly to linger. Bed seems a more sensible option.

I'm off...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.