Learning from Bees

In foxgloves and campanula
in warmth of summer's day
bees are always on the go
like farmers making hay
but as they buzz so joyfully
it seems like child's play.

If we could only learn to buzz
when we are in mid-flight
or cloudy days bear down on us
and nothing seems quite right
then life might be less stressful
and drudgery, delight.

poem © Celia Warren 2013

The bees were in both foxgloves and campanula, but my best shot was of this bee who was harvesting from a forget-me-not - one of the tall variety with the scratchy stems. They love them.

It's a gorgeous day today. Spent some of it in the garden, and some of it on the beach. Had a read, a snooze, a paddle and a Magnum - in that order. Should have been brave and taken my cozzie - lots of people were swimming. And, of course, this could be it for the summer. Rain and coolth forecast for tomorrow, again. No matter - today's not over yet, and I'm now taking my tea and book back in the garden. I'm on holiday today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.