Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

FLOWER FRIDAY - ONE LONE FUSCHIA

I asked Mr. HCB this morning whether there were any flowers still blooming in the garden, but he said sadly not, BUT he thought there was a fuchsia blooming in the greenhouse.  Indeed there was, so here it is for Flower Friday - and I have used my PhotoRoom app to get rid of the background, so that it shows off this beautiful little flower well.

Mr. HCB also pointed out to me the tray of sweet peas that Monty Don, of Gardeners’ World, had encouraged gardeners to sow in the autumn because apparently, when this is done, they have a better root system.  So Mr. HCB, being a man who likes to try different things, is giving this advice a try and hopefully, we will have better sweet peas next year - see my extra.

We went shopping for a few bits and pieces that cost almost £75 but we are blessed and able to pay for these without it breaking the bank.  Whilst our shopping was going through I was chatting to the young lady on the till, who told me that her 1 year old baby had had a very high temperature last night and she hadn’t really wanted to leave him today to come to work, but had to.  She said that the baby was with her husband, but she would still have liked to have stayed at home.  I told her that I was very fortunate in that I was able to work from home when my first baby was born - probably one of the first “work from home” Mums and this was over 50 years ago, but I understood how she felt.

Having told me my shopping was going to cost £74.65 and probably because the young lady was a bit upset, she moved the “Next Customer” marker and proceeded to continue scanning some of the items belonging to the man behind us in the queue.  When I said that mine was finished, she then got upset because she couldn’t void all the extra items, so when it got down to £76, I told her to leave it there and I would pay for the Fruit and Nut Mix;  fortunately, the man behind was very good and patient, but sadly others in the queue weren’t quite so understanding and there was a lot of murmuring and grumbling.  However, a Manager came and sorted it out and all was well.  

In spite of all this, Mr. HCB still has to cook our evening meal, because I was nearer to the total price than he was - just a little game we play and it did make the young lady and the man behind us smile as we left.

Hope you all have a great weekend - stay safe and warm.  M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.