Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

I had an early start this morning in order to meet Elizabeth at Grindleford Station for a 6 mile walk. I don't know when I was last in the Peak District, but I expect Blip will tell me.... there we are, a walk on 26th August 2023.

It was such an enjoyable walk, I hadn't realised how much I'd missed the Peak and its moorland! It's just over an hour's drive, but its worth it and I need to do it more.

I thought I recognised the area of silver birches and then we came to Lawrencefield, a place I haven't climbed since 2017 with the photo showing Nailsbane and Snail Crack, both VD*.

Back at the cars we changed our footwear, went over the road to The Maynard and enjoyed pots of peppermint tea. But why does every hot drink nowadays arrive with some sort of small, sweet treat? I gave mine to Elizabeth!

I'm really pleased to find that my knee isn't paining me after my first walk over rough ground and with some ascent/descent :-)

5.67 miles
829 ft elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.