JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Village celebrities

I think this is the only blue plaque in the village, reminding us of the years Audrey Hepburn spent in Elham as a little girl in the 1930s. I've always liked blue plaques, though the information they give only hints at the richness of the lives they commemorate; but it's interesting to be able to connect well-know people with the places they inhabited and which helped to shape their lives. I used to go to knitting group gatherings in this house in Duck Street, and the little duck on the gate used to live on the road name sign opposite. During the years Audrey spent here with her mother, she attended a small private school just round the corner in the square, and her role in the Elham Brownies' production of Humpty Dumpty may have been her first public performance. There is more information on the historical society website.

It was a very gloomy and wet day. I went for a quick walk during a short break between the downpours, and the few photos I took were uninspiring. Shortly before I arrived back at home I was caught in a torrential downpour, huddled close to a high hedge for a while then made a dash for it. I was wet enough to need to change most of my clothes - I've known for a long time that my old waterproof now isn't, but I try to avoid rainy walks, so most of the time it's serviceable enough. I tucked my camera inside the jacket, where it seems to have survived.

The day's principal achievement was that I finally made a batch of mince pies. The pastry was not up to my mum's standards. She was born in the same year as Audrey Hepburn, and made impeccably neat mince pies.

I've now back-blipped Monday and Tuesday's photos, but still have the rest of the week to catch up with. I've been busy sticking photos on blank cards and belatedly putting together the annual calendar of J's art work, which I've now (on Friday evening) finally ordered, though the calendars will probably, appropriately enough, now be new year rather than Christmas presents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.