Dakers

By Dakers

A Toppings Evening.

After yet another day in Edinburgh, the drive back home via St Andrews was adventurous and puzzling.

The purpose of visiting St Andrews was to enjoy Toppings Yuletide opening. Today’s entry shows a small section of the Toppings Bookshop.

I had an order of books to collect which I duly did. However, Pat discovered one or two other books which would make excellent Christmas presents. I had to agree.

Puzzling? I was using Apple Maps to drive between Edinburgh and St Andrews. It is dark these days by 4:00 p.m. and there had been quite a downpour resulting in flooding on parts of the road.

The route selected by Siri was fairly normal until about 15 miles from St Andrews, when the route proposed was by some very narrow and unusual routes. 

I followed the instructions and we arrived safely at our destination. I suspect that the diversion was to avoid flooding. It was a route I would never have used.

Narrow roads normally lightly trafficked become quite a challenge in adverse conditions. My night vision is not what it used to be.

I have not been able to find any reason for the change. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.