That Will Do!

By flumgummery

Fox

This is our regular visitor, I now call her Winnie, not Wilma as Mr Flum had suggested - not that it makes any difference to her.

Mr Flum has been cutting back the beech tree (note some trimmings on the lawn) and much of the wildlife has kept away but, as soon as he had come indoors, Winnie rolled up.

We have this system now:  I open the door with some food and she slinks away but doesn't go far, I put down the food, calling her and continuing to talk as I go back inside. After a few seconds she'll come back and eat - often a magpie or two will hover about hoping for a treat but she ignores them. Today I gave her some peanuts and sunflower seeds.

Those of you with a sensitive nature may wish to stop reading here.

Feeding the foxes has its downside in that they now mark their territory by leaving a pile of poo, which is ok if it's easy to clear up. However, I cleared a few deposits yesterday and was puzzled by the appearance so had a close look. Someone had been foraging in the bins as some white plastic (?a bag) with green writing had passed right through the animal. In a perverse way I'm now hoping to see another deposit, just to check that it has cleared their system. So, if I'm feeding her, she'll have something edible, not plastic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.