Me, My Camera & I

By notgraham

Fag Break

Today's plans were to get to Glasgow for a family gathering and presents exchange. We arrived a bit early, which allowed others to get to some of their favourite shops before the melee of Glasgow / family took over and caused chaos.
Here I was, placated with Timmie's coffee. Sat on the Divorced Husbands bench outside Primark on Argyle Street

I don't know what it is with Glasgow wimmen. They appear to be able to talk to anyone about anything despite not knowing who the other person is. Well, these two plonked themselves down for what I can only assume was a well earned fag break, going by the bags and conversations had in the 10 minutes they were seated.
Also, today was my first brush with any sort of Palestine protesting. This WFH gig doesn't half insulate you from the goings on in your nearby city.
Well, the first protest I was aware of was at Barclays - a small, but noisy affair that didn't close the branch, but might have intimidated any customers who wanted to enter their premises.
Later in the day when we were all together and wanted to transit from one Christmas Market to another - St Enoch's Square -> George Square. Fairly simple walk up Buchanan Street you'd think. Oh no, not today.
2nd protest of the day was a huge (peaceful) crowd that essentially blockaded the Zara store. I say peaceful, but it also felt quite intimidating the chanting and other noises. The younger members of our group were very curious and questioning of why this was occurring.
What made it a wee bit more intimidating was that as we passed the group, they started a march up Buchanan Street behind us!
Cue us diving into Royal Exchange Square to avoid further entanglement.
I added a 2nd photo for today - of the big wheel on George Square - not my finest, but when armed with only an iPhone you gets what you gets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.