Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Curlew Encounter

After yesterday’s waxwing experience, it’s off to RSPB Conwy today. The sun is shining, but the wind blowing off the river is brisk to say the least. I probably prefer the river flat-calm and mirror-like, but there’s something both refreshing and life affirming about walking along the estuary. G has walked on ahead - to be honest, I think he’s assumed I’ll only walk the inner circuit. But I’m feeling surprisingly energised, enjoying walking and feeling better than I have all year. Long may it last! 

Along the estuary, I come across a bird walking along the path some distance ahead of me. At first I think it may be a female pheasant, but as I get closer, I realise it’s a curlew - one of my favourite birds.  I slow down, taking shots from a distance, knowing he will fly off as soon as he spots me. He moves into the riverbank vegetation, pausing for a while and I take my shot  - my blip today (much better large). He then decides the high-tide covered mud banks offer nothing in terms of food, and flies off in search of better feeding grounds - probably the salt-marsh of Traeth Lafan. 

Thanks so much for your kindness shown towards yesterday’s waxwings - much appreciated! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.